p 83 Which at very first wind of gay gay   1 comment

I’ve just done my first recording, up to p 93: “a rael genteel”.

Why this starting point? Because it was where we ended last night with Fritz Senn’s group in Zurich.

http://www.joycefoundation.ch/

Linguistically, I feel uniquely qualified for this exercise! To my eye, Hibernian English seems pretty close to Weegie-speak. I lived for Glasgow, as a student, for four years. And I remember coming up on the train from Oxenholm after the sumer holiday, and not being able to understand a single word the guard was saying to me, as I stood on a Glasgow Central station platform. At times like that you just have to let it wash over you. I’ve also lived occasionally in Germany; briefly studied Italian opera singing, and have now been resident in francophone countries for eleven years. Polyglossia is my life. Understanding is never a given.  So I enjoyed my first dyslexic dive into the Wake.

Posted October 15, 2010 by R.H.H. Nisbet in Finnegans Wake Audio Recording

One response to “p 83 Which at very first wind of gay gay

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for doing these recordings. This book is incredible. Joseph Campbell the Comparative Mythologist based many of his writings on the writings of Joyce. Cheers! Michael

Leave a Reply

